A little more about us
This much-loved heritage site dates back to 1410, and offers a wealth of olde worlde charm with a timber frame, exposed beams and a recently discovered fireplace dating back hundreds of years.
This traditional Georgian town centre pub, situated in the picturesque seaside resort of Beaumaris, is extremely popular with locals and tourists alike and boasts a quality traditional menu with daily specials along with a choice of cask beers. We are also a short walk from the beach and the famous Beaumaris Castle.
History of the George & Dragon Beaumaris Pub.
The George & Dragon (site of the original building) was only a Merchants House.
The present beams within the pub have been dated to this period.
Date mentioned when the present George & Dragon rebuilt (Merchants House).
Date mentioned as to a date inscribed on one of the beams within the pub, and when the paintings first appeared (Merchants House).
Inn known as the Red Lyon, Beaumaris. The Innkeeper was John Lloyd, also o shopkeeper and it had been part of the Bodelwyddan Estate, Flint, belonging to John Williams Esq.
18th June 1821
John Williams married Grace Lloyd at Beaumaris Parish Church - The Inn was now known as the George & Dragon.
August 8th 1832
(Wednesday) Duchess of Kent and Princess Victoria stayed at the William Bulkeley Hotel (now Bulkeley Arms) on a tour of Wales. Celebrations held at the George & Dragon, and throughout Beaumaris.
Between 1840 – 1920
The George & Dragon had several different Innkeepers
23rd September 1950
George & Dragon was listed as a Grade 11
1st May 1968
George & Dragon was purchased by Frederic Robinson Ltd
An article appears in the Times Newspaper about the old paintings discovered in the roof and the Welsh Office & brewery take steps to preserve the inscriptions. Anglesey, home of the Tudor dynasty and the ancestral Welsh Kings, is also home to The George and Dragon; one of the oldest pubs in all of Wales.