A little more about us
The Church House opened in 1941 and was originally thatched but after 2 fires in 1947 and 1950 the roof was tiled. Photos from these fires can be seen in the main room of the pub. The large carved wooden bear at the front of the pub was provided by Church House regulars for the residents of Buglawton and is permanent reminder that many years the people of Congleton used the money they had saved for a Town Bible to buy a bear for the town fair. The stunning tree in the children's play area is a weeping ash and it is rare to find such an old tree of this type.
We are a community pub with a large beer garden and enclosed children's play area. In the winter we have log fires and, in the Summer, an attractive garden which catches the sun from early afternoon and into the evening.
We provide a meeting place for the Beartown Bikers, Tempus Metal Detecting and Archaeology Club, Congleton Motorbike and Trial Riders, Buglawton Community group, Congleton Rotary Club committee meetings, Wyche Classic Motorbike Club and Astbury Vintage Restoration Society. Feathery Folk, an owl and birds of prey experience, is based in the grounds - parties or experiences can be booked through their website. As well as the main lounge and small meeting room we have a games room with a pool table and dart board, and a smoking shelter to the rear of the pub.